University of Glasgow

UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

 
Part of the Library and University Services

Scottish Theatre Archive - Name Details


Name: Palladium Theatre , Edinburgh
Dates:
Notes: The Palladium Theatre was located in Fountainbridge and opened in 1886 as a Circus by John Henry Cooke and when it stopped being used as a Circus it was refurbished and turned into a cinema, showing silent movies. The cinema closed in August 1932 and was used by Millicent Ward and her Company until 1935, when the Palladium became a major venue for variety entertainment. For the next thirty-three years, the Palladium played host to numerous star names, such as Lex McLean, Alec Finlay, Robert Wilson, Donald Peers and Tom & Jack Alexander.
Documents associated with this name:
Events associated with this name:
Accessions associated with this name: