Item Details

Call Number: MS Gen 532/58
Date of Creation: 1915
Place of Creation: France
Level of Description: Item
Part of MS Gen 532
Content: Letter from Francis MacCunn to his Father [John MacCunn]. 6th Camerons, 12 September [1915]
Main interest is the magazine written by the 'Cameron Officers of the Cameron Officers, for the Cameron Officers'. Doctor is the editor. Would not be surprised of the Russians came again in the East. 13 September celebrate 27 birthday. Received letter from Hetherington, has been doing a lot in the shell line at Sheffield. Sorry to hear that Granny [MacCunn?] is ill. Happy to get Doris [sister] letter and sympathises with her efforts to help. Received sweet from Old Black.
Letter contained in envelope. Addressed to J. MacCunn Esq, Ben Cruach Lodge, Tarbet, Loch Lomond, 14 September 1915
Physical Description: 2 loose sheets
Access: Normal conditions
Language: English
Material Type: Letter
Accession Number: 4178
See details of how this material was acquired
Repository Code: GB 0247

Names associated with this item:

author: Francis John MacCunn 1888-1915
Born in Liverpool. Son of John MacCunn and Florence Anne Sellar (d 1939). A cousin of the composer Hamish MacCunn. Studied at the University of Oxford. Assistant, …
recipient: John MacCunn 1846-1929
Professor of Philosophy, University College, Liverpool.
subject: Sir Hector James Wright Hetherington 1888-1965
Principal, University of Glasgow, 1936-1961. Educated at Dollar Academy and the University of Glasgow where he was a lecturer in the department of Moral Philosophy, 1910-1914 and Professor 1924-1927.
subject: MacCunn fl.1915
Wife of John MacCunn, shipowner.
subject: Mary Poldores Thomson 1896-1983
Née Mary Poldores MacCunn.
WebPAC PRO © Innovative Interfaces, Inc.