||Photography was brought to Scotland by the friendship of its inventor, William Henry Fox Talbot, with Sir David Brewster of St Andrews. Dr John Adamson became involved and he encouraged his younger brother Robert to take up the new art professionally. The high tower of the 11c St Rule's Church dominates a tiny chancel. It is next to the ruins of the 12c Cathedral, which was consecrated in 1318. After the Reformation of 1560 it was used mainly as a quarry by the town until government efforts in 1805.