University of Glasgow

UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

 
Part of the Library and University Services

Hill and Adamson Collection

GUL Number: HA0477
Image:
Object Type: NEGATIVE PAPER CAMERA
Title: Free St John's Church and Assembly Hall (now St Columba's Free Church) under construction; Tolbooth behind
Subject: Architecture/Townscape
Description: Free St John's Church & Assembly Hall was completed in 1845 and is now St Columba's Free Church. The Tolbooth, completed in 1844, is now the headquarters of the Edinburgh Festival. This negative made the prints now in the SNPG and the City Art Gallery. Judging by the building progress, HA481, HA650 & HA651 were taken in the first group of images of this scene; HA476, HA479, HA480, HA484, HA647 & HA648 were taken next; HA477, HA478, HA482, HA483, HA485, HA486, & HA649 were taken in a third group
Location: Edinburgh
Photographer: HILL David Octavius
Photographer: ADAMSON Robert
Image Size: 40.7 h x 32.9 w
Negative Size: 1
Inscription Verso: ink A20 [deleted in pencil] pencil 43A 43a