University of Glasgow

UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

 
Part of the Library and University Services

Scottish Theatre Archive - Name Details


Name: Royalty Theatre , Glasgow
Dates: 1879-1960
Notes: Across Sauchiehall Street from the Empire was the Royalty Theatre, later renamed the Lyric. The theatre was built in 1879 and acquired in 1884 by Howard and Wyndham who used it as a touring theatre. As such ithosted such illustrious companies as D'Oyly Carte and the Lyceum Company with Henry Irving and Ellen Terry. It is best remembered, however, as the home of the Glasgow Repertory Theatre. This company was begun in 1909 under the direction of Alfred Wareing. Between 1909 and 1914 the theatre premiered many plays including J.A. Ferguson's Campbell of Kilmohr and presented Chekhov's The Seagull, the first time a work by Chekhov had ever been performed in Britain. After the First World War, the theatre was sold to the Y.M.C.A. who renamed it the Lyric. The theatre was destroyed by fire in 1953, rebuilt and finally demolished in 1962. [See: See Glasgow See Theatre]
Documents associated with this name:
Events associated with this name:
Accessions associated with this name: